Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

Not to caste… a reminder to myself

with 3 comments

I hate the word “caste”. I abhor the word “religion”. They are not bad per se. It’s just that these have incorrectly led to too many a battle among people. People will always be categorized, if not caste and religion, then it might have been the color of the skin. But using these to feed wars is what I have always disliked. If now was not early morning, and I was in a flow, and if I started writing about caste and religion and how much I detest them, I think that would take a long time. And no one would read it 🙂

So we’ll come to what triggered this post. Vulturo just wrote this on his blog, signing off with:

Damn caste and casteism. Ditto regionalism. But while my brother and mom are at it, I’m going to have a rocking time laughing at the absurdity of it.

I feel the same way. Except that I don’t laugh, but get pissed off.

I’ve had a similar thing going on with my parents. But there is one thing that I noticed that never seemed right. My parents were never like this when I was a kid. When I was a kid, they seemed pretty ok, agreeing with me when I cried out against the concepts of caste and religion. But as the years went by, they became quieter… never opposing me, but not supporting me either. What happened?

My guess is that sometimes when people become older, they become less and less inclined to fight the system. They rather go along with the tide. Perhaps they’ve figured out that living together happily with everybody is a better thing to do than get into fights/debates. Too many fights for too long, bringing up their kids, making ends meet, managing to get promotions at work, standing in queues to pay bills have made them “soft”.

Unlike me, who still would love to fight and rant, never leading to anything of substance; never bringing about change in anyone. Because of course I’ve always had it easy. I pay my bills online. I don’t have any kids yet. I earn more than my parents put together. I live on my own. I’ve just had it too easy till now. I can afford to bicker about these things still. I have time to write about this on my blog 🙂

But will I still be like this even twenty years from now? I hope so. Because if I give in, accept casteism and religionism, and try to cajole my children to marry into the caste (though I have absolutely no idea what my caste is! Anyone know what caste does a “Bit” belong?), it would just mean that nothing had changed. It would just mean that we had not moved into newer things to worry about, debate and write.

Without any forthcoming change, why do I even bother to live?

Written by Null Bit

Thursday, October 13, 2005 at 6:56 am

Posted in Trackbacks

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very good questions, but I am not sure it is a matter of “soft”-ness. Could it be a matter of only having so much energy available and needing to, as they say “Pick your battles”?

    If you are not alive, there is NO possibility of making a change occur!

    shadow

    Monday, November 7, 2005 at 1:32 am

  2. list medical for the senior citizens www aflac of fargo nd…

    calculative.flicked mangled?victualer:…

  3. play virtual seven card stud for free…

    fury subtrahend Caruso!…

    play virtual seven card stud for free

    Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 12:30 pm


Leave a Reply

