Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

Who *really* benefits from productivity enhancement?

leave a comment »

So I see this article at http://jeremy.zawodny.com/blog/archives/005541.html:

In the New York Times story “Meet the Life Hackers”, we read of the results from some testing done at Microsoft:

The results? On the bigger screen, people completed the tasks at least 10 percent more quickly – and some as much as 44 percent more quickly. They were also more likely to remember the seven-digit number, which showed that the multitasking was clearly less taxing on their brains. Some of the volunteers were so enthralled with the huge screen that they begged to take it home. In two decades of research, Czerwinski had never seen a single tweak to a computer system so significantly improve a user’s productivity. The clearer your screen, she found, the calmer your mind.

And I think, who really benefits from enhancing productivity? Productivity means me finishing my work in the usual 8 hours. Not being productive means I stay back after work and work a total of 10-12 hours but I get the work done. So who really benefits? It is only me who stands to benefit. Does my organization care? Nah… they don’t need to. Not until I start needing more than 24 hours in a day for finishing my work, I guess 🙂

I read another article recently stating… a poor lunch can reduce productivity by 10%!! So who cares? The total production is never hampered. It’s just the “productivity” that is getting hampered.

The organization is worried about production.

We the workers are worried about productivity.

Written by Null Bit

Wednesday, October 19, 2005 at 7:53 pm

Posted in Muses, Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

