Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

Announcing the National Portal of India

leave a comment »

Got this info first from Atul Chitnis’s blog journal.

India finally has a (one-stop?) portal.

This is the National Portal of the India, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Government entities.

Seriously wonderful colors, (please don’t crib about the American spelling… I couldn’t care :-)), good and simple fonts. However, the “SignIndia” option does not work after successful registration. Anyways, what extra will I get after signing in? I wish they had made it clearer. Is there a way to send query emails to various ministries? I couldn’t find any, and I wish it was that easy to send suggestion/improvement/query mails to various government institutions. In addtion (I know I am asking for the moon… :-)), I’d like proper reference numbers for each feedback mail that I send that I can use to refer on non-response or future reference.

Hmmm. .. haven’t done too much with it. But I know it will be useful. Now I can happily link to http://india.gov.in instead of http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/geos/in.html, which happens to be the first link on searching India on Google.

Written by Null Bit

Friday, November 11, 2005 at 3:12 pm

Posted in Info, Reviews, Webservices

Leave a comment