Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

invite-only not an Orkutian concept

leave a comment »

As far as I remember, I came across the “invite-only” concept fairly recently, when I desperately wanted to see what Orkut was all about, and I did not have an invite. The day one of my friend’s got it was exhilarating 🙂 He invited me, and then I invited more friends. Then we spent weeks fighting over who had more number of friends!

Well, the craze has died now… there were some defects that Orkut never took care of. And then there were some very ficticious profiles…

Anyways, this post was not about this, but the fact that this “invite-only” concept is actually much older than Orkut. It just struck me today. I opened a bank account recently, and there it was staring at me, the “Introducers” section, which is very similar to being invited by someone who already has an account in the bank! (I wonder how this thing got started) Nowadays, it pretty easy. The bank themselves introduce us. However, I remember my mom opening a bank account a long time back and it wasn’t that easy. She had to request some other bank customer to introduce her so that she could open an account! Maybe it’s still the same in the national banks… dunno. Never had an account in one of those 🙂

But the “invite-only” is definetely not an Orkut invention. As I used to believe earlier.

Written by Null Bit

Thursday, November 24, 2005 at 7:46 pm

Posted in Muses

Leave a Reply

