Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

When is GMail 2.0 due?

with 5 comments

The GMail team hasn’t been doing anything spectacular after their initial launch. Isn’t it time that they did something new and different? With Yahoo! Mail and Windows Live Mail etc. getting ready to launch their new slick AJAX-driven new versions, and lots of invited users saying good things about these services… GMail needs to buck up. I wonder how many people actually moved out of Yahoo! and Hotmail and truly adopted GMail entirely. I’d guess that most people have their feet in both, not decided which email account to convert to their primary one. GMail, with it’s new interface and email style did not actually manage to convert users totally. GMail, being invite-only reduced supply, and gave the impression that people were dying to stop using Yahoo! Mail and Hotmail and adopt GMail. I don’t think that was the case.

And now, once Yahoo! comes out with their new 3-panel interface, I have a feeling that lots of people who had their feet in both the boats will happily go the Yahoo! way.

When the (email) battle has been fought and won, my prediction is that it will be Yahoo! and not Google that’ll win the game. Yahoo! is still (as always) more end-use centric. Google is still thinking about big users with their Google Analytics etc. services.

Written by Null Bit

Sunday, November 27, 2005 at 1:05 pm

Posted in Muses

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have both a Gmail account and a Yahoo account. As I am on a Mac, the Gmail seems more friendly, but I rarely use its interface. Yahoo’s TinyMice editor doesn’t work on Safari, few do. Perhaps I need to try it with Firefox.

    WC

    wildchild

    Tuesday, November 29, 2005 at 12:51 am

  2. i am exclusively using Gmail since I got my account on it. More so when they added the free forwarding.

    Sushubh

    Saturday, December 10, 2005 at 6:15 am

  3. The new Yahoo sucks. It looks really thrown together, graphical elements don’t match, and the ads don’t look good at all.

    I have both and I can proudly say that Gmail is much more sophisticated that the New Yahoo! Mail, even as it stands now.

    P.S. And haven’t you heard, Google is coming out with a better version of Gmail – it is now available to about 2% of it’s users, and that includes me. It is amazing…

    PhantomPhoenix

    Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 5:54 pm

  4. It’s here now!!

    Yay

    Thursday, November 8, 2007 at 10:48 am

  5. I been using Gmail since the start and it’s a lot better than Yahoo or Hotmail. I logged into my Yahoo email a few years ago and EVERYTHING was deleted. I was just approaching the half way limit and when I emailed Yahoo and asked them about it they just said it’s standard policy to empty the trash after 30 days. I told them that my folders were deleted along with my entire inbox and they never got back to me. I had a Hotmail account and when I was out of state I checked it no problem but when I returned home it kept saying my password had been changed even though I never changed it. I gave my password to a relative so they could try to log in and they did. So I’m glad I have Gmail.

    Jacob

    Sunday, December 2, 2007 at 1:38 am


Leave a Reply

