Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

Somebody please note. I understand only English.

with 8 comments

Ok. Rant post ahead.

The Internet has penetrated all of the world.

Ok, maybe not. I sometime do look out of my window and see poor people crapping on the sidewalks, because they got no place to go.
But the Internet is definetely accessible to all the people who actually make decisions or are part of it. And some vellas like me who just keep tabs on these decision-making people and observe them, whilst getting obese 😛

All decision making people except maybe the Vatican? Does the Pope use the Internet? Dunno 🙂

Anyways, no more happy smilies in a rant post 😡

I seriously wish someone would do something about so many languages on the Internet.

I keep checking out referred links that seem gibberish to me. And I read comments that seem gibberish to me. And it wastes a lot of my time because I never know beforehand what language is a particular website in!

For example, I like to browse through the “Latest Posts” on my WordPress.com dashboard soemtimes, discovering new blogs. But about 70% of the times I reach blogs that are not written in English! Maybe that’s because I share this timezone with the Chinese and the Russians etc. and all of us tend to blog during normal waking hours? I’ve sent this as a Feedback on WordPress.com, but I’m sure they’ve been busy with other more important stuff 🙂
But whatever it is, I really wish I’d be warned by some bubble help before I click on links that it would lead me to a non-English blog i.e. a blog that is not in one of my understood languages.
That IS a cool idea, isn’t it? Now since I can’t think how to develop this feature, I’ll just link it to LazyWeb, I think 😛

Written by Null Bit

Wednesday, December 7, 2005 at 9:22 am

Posted in Rants, Trackbacks

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Perhaps a Greasemonkey script that checks the language of pages linked on the current page through XMLHTTP?

    Martey

    Wednesday, December 7, 2005 at 11:56 am

  2. Honestly, anything that looks like gibberish on my dashboard for new posts I see as a foreign language. Like you, I don’t have time to waste on a site I can’t read. 🙂

    Oh, btw, internet access in the States is available to EVERY one. Most public libraries give access to anyone who signs up to use the internet computers. Yup. Even homeless people can access the internet if they so chose.

    WC

    wildchild

    Wednesday, December 7, 2005 at 1:32 pm

  3. Martey: I don’t know Greasemonkey, but I’ve heard about it. You think it can do the job? I’ll check it out sometime. Thanks.

    wildchild: Hello and thanks for visiting again 🙂 You’re lucky that the US can make the Internet accessible to everyone. It definetely means that you have very few people. If our libraries decided to allow everyone free Internet access, they’d be **swamped** all day with no place to move 🙂
    Also, sometimes the Dashboard does not show the gibbersih characters. You get to see them only after you’ve visited the page.

    Null Bit

    Wednesday, December 7, 2005 at 5:50 pm

  4. The hreflang attribute of the anchor element is intended exactly for this, although almost no one uses it. In theory, your browser could display the language of the link next to the link, or in the tooltip, or something. It’s difficult to do, though, unless you’re creating all of your links by hand, since for an automated process would have to fetch the page and rely on either a server header or some heuristic to determine the language.

    I try to add hreflang attributes to all of the links I create, but it can be difficult, especially if you’re using a wiki, or a text formatting language like Markdown or Textile.

    Darren Chamberlain

    Wednesday, December 7, 2005 at 8:11 pm

  5. Darren, thanks a lot for the info. I knew “href”, but “hreflang” is new to me. Its pretty good to hear that theoretically there is a way out, although extremely impractical.
    I’m still keeping my fingers crossed. I am sure this will soon hit people in a big way soon. Like my country (India) would love to have people using local languages on the computer. And we must have hundreds of these 🙂 If we can get our act together, we could end up creating chaos on the Internet!!

    Null Bit

    Wednesday, December 7, 2005 at 8:36 pm

  6. Maybe it’s because I’m on a Mac that I see a lot of gibberish on my dashboard. It may read the symbols differently. I don’t know.

    We have a LOT of people on the computers at the libraries. At most of them, there are 30 minute time slots that you sign up for and usually, you can only sign up for one time slot at a time. Depending on the library, those computers are full all day.

    WC

    P.S. Thanks for visiting me. 🙂

    wildchild

    Wednesday, December 7, 2005 at 9:20 pm

  7. […] I discovered Lazyweb a few months back. And I loved the idea… Unfortunately it’s fallen to the spammers, and I wish someone would do something about it. I wonder how Akismet works and whether that technology can be used to save Lazyweb… It works jolly well for this blog. […]

  8. quadcard computers bingo…

    sieves indigenously snack….

    quadcard computers bingo

    Friday, January 23, 2009 at 10:23 am


Leave a Reply

