Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

digg problems cited

with one comment

I did a micro-analysis of digg once, soon after I had started using digg, where I likened it to a manual version of Google News. Dan Cameron has a post where he cites some reasons why he thinks the digg model may breakdown soon. He might be right. But his solution does not seem to be workable. What he proposes seems to be very similar to what StumbleUpon already does. And that won’t help. digg will need something else to keep being useful and help get news from all the world over to their front page.

Also, I’m not sure how much digg is helping in “ranking” news. Because I’ve stopped ranking or “digging”. I like the looks of a news (I read the news only when I see it on DiggTray) and I go have a look. And I forget to “digg”, usually because I’ve closed the tab or I’ve moved on to the actual webpage. digg really needs to do something to help me “digg”, while me reading the article. One way I can think of is to use frames where I see a digg bar on the top frame and the actual website on the lower frame. I like the news on the lower frame. I “digg” it on the top frame. This happens to be a very old way, and with newer crazy stuff like AJAX being available nowadays, maybe there will be something better. But I really think digg needs to help me “digg” in a simpler manner.

Written by Null Bit

Thursday, December 15, 2005 at 3:34 pm

Posted in Trackbacks

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree and just to add to what you were saying ,i have stopped digging through all of the new diggs recently.I got very tired of seeing all of the dupes,spam,and just over all bad stories.

    picardk

    Friday, December 16, 2005 at 2:50 am


Leave a Reply

