Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

Please don’t ask me “How are you?”

with 2 comments

I’m sure all of us know people who go around saying Hello and Good Morning to everyone everyday. I don’t have anything against that, even thought personally I wouldn’t want to do that. Just think what would happen if everyone went around saying Hello and wishing everyone else Good Morning everyday after they came to work…. the first guy says nothing. The second guy wishes him (1 wish). The third guy wishes the first two (2 wishes). The fourth… and u get the drift. 1+2+3+…..+(n-1) = n(n-1)/2. For a 50 people workplace that means 1225 hellos!! When would any work get done??!

Anyways, I still don’t have any complaints against people being friendly. What I have against them is when they follow it up with a “How are you?”. I usually give a plastic smile and a nod. But that is so rude. I hate doing it, but I seriously wonder if anything else is expected? I really don’t know what to answer with. I am damned if I start telling the guy about my problems or what I am feeling. That is for this blog 🙂 And I am sure the guy does not expect any answer… or does he?? Why can’t they just say a Hello and move on with their lives and work?

Come to think of it, this sort of thing happens with elders too. Ever met some old acquaintance of your mom, and she says “How are you?”, giving a big smile. And I want to say, “I’m not well. I’m having to put up with you when I could have been with my friends” and give a huge smile in return! 😈

Written by Null Bit

Friday, December 16, 2005 at 11:26 am

Posted in Rants

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am one of those people and am usually interested in how someone is doing. (shrug) Whether you are having a good or bad day, I still want to know. I guess it’s just how I’m wired. I like people. LOL

    WC

    wildchild

    Sunday, December 18, 2005 at 10:21 am

  2. 🙂
    Actually, I don’t think I mind it too much either.. this post was triggered off when someone I don’t like too much at work and rarely interact with did this “How are you?” one time too many.
    And he does this *everyday* without fail after he comes in. I just had to unburden myself someplace and it was this 😛

    Null Bit

    Sunday, December 18, 2005 at 5:14 pm


Leave a Reply

