Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

Let me C

with 3 comments

A heavyweight echoes my thoughts 🙂 [And in case you don’t read Joel and are into software, you really should].

If I had written about it, no one would have read and pondered about it. But when Joel does it, I am sure there will be thousands who would think about it.

I got lucky some months back when I started taking interviews for my team. That experience taught me a lot of things but one thing stands out the most. Because of my expertise or field of work, I tended to get quite a few resumes that usually had “Java” written on them. And this taught me:

a) I did not know any Java.
b) I did not understand Java.
c) People who knew Java and nothing else did not understand me at all! (God… this made asking them questions such a pain)
d) People who knew Java would usually not know anything else at all. They did not understand linked lists, pointers, data structures… nothing.
e) Given a problem, all Java people want to start writing Java code. They hated explaining the logic or the design behind the solution, because they could not.

Joel is against using OOP as a teaching aid too. And I agree. There is just too much C code in this world to be able to escape from it (some can, but not all). And learning OOP and languages that facilitate this kind of programming (such as C++, Java etc.) will make you very frustrated when you have to look at C code. And when you code in C, you will never be able to figure out compilation errors, because there’s a lot of things that is an error in C, but not in C++. I’ve seen people gazing at C code unable to debug or figure out compilation problems because all they’ve learnt is C++ in college!

I was among the lucky ones who was not taught C++/Java as his first programming language. My teachers stuck to C and functional programming. Not that I appreciated it then or understood it properly. And I regret it now. I’m still better off than a lot of people though.

Written by Null Bit

Friday, December 30, 2005 at 3:28 pm

Posted in Muses, Trackbacks

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. for(i=0;i

    Seema

    Sunday, January 1, 2006 at 1:50 pm

  2. for(i=0;i less than infinity; i++)
    printf (‘Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarg’);

    Seema

    Sunday, January 1, 2006 at 1:51 pm

  3. I only know html, as far as computer languages go. LOL This is completely out of my league. 🙂

    WC

    wildchild

    Monday, January 2, 2006 at 9:48 am


Leave a Reply

