Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

Let me delete myself

with 2 comments

How many web accounts do you have? Not just email accounts… but all those websites that forced you to register just so that you could check it out? I must have hundreds :-).

Unfortunately some of this info gets googled 😦 I seriously wonder why? I’ll admit I never read the Terms & Conditions page… and I wonder of they make me agree to this sort of thing… and so if you know the usual username that I use everywhere (and you all know why I’d like a common username everywhere), it’s very easy to google and find out what links am I storing in http://del.icio.us or http://digg.com or other profile info like birthdates, personal websites etc. etc. 👿

Now, I am NOT actually cribbing about these websites making this info googlable. My grouse is that I did not get to choose what info I want to be googlable. I might want to share my Digg profile data with other Digg users, but maybe not the entire world!

Granted that putting in so many checks on which data should be googlable (that does seem more like a word than yahooable, doesn’t it :-P) might be asking too much. But ATLEAST… PLEASE LET ME DELETE MY ACCOUNT from the site itself and without having to send emails to the administrators!! I’ve been wanting to delete some user accounts that have been lying unused for so long… and I’ve been searching and searching, but there are no “Delete Account” links. Very few sites actually give this option.

Some sites do allow you to delete your account. But they seem to still keep the info on their servers!! One example is www.kinja.com. I deleted my account ages ago, but it still shows up on Google 😦

Written by Null Bit

Tuesday, January 17, 2006 at 8:32 pm

Posted in Rants

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Even Google cannot keep track of all of them. I know for sure that I have signed up for things and they never were found by Google. I do not know why that is but it does happen sometimes.

    Dewayne Mikkelson

    Tuesday, January 24, 2006 at 6:17 am

  2. hye my name is shakea n my friends found out my password n added my to this site http://www.digg.com but i dont like it so please can you delete it from my account………..thanks in advance shakea

    shakea

    Thursday, August 30, 2007 at 9:38 pm


Leave a Reply

