Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

Stealing my credit card number, eh?

with 2 comments

Busy not working… It's around 4:00 PM … time for some tea šŸ™‚

Tring Tring… Damn… a call from an unknown number … +914039845465 .. who's this idiot calling.

Caller: Sir, I am calling from ICICI Bank regarding some payments that you have made from the website.

Me: (worried… I did make some online payments 2 weeks back which had mysteriously failed) Eh… ok.. what's this about?

Caller: Sir, this is about *&%*&%

Me: Sorry but I didn't get that. Could you repeat it again?

Caller: Sir, this is about &*^&^%%*

Me: (Time to get my ears checked) Right… thanks. Ok.. so?

Caller: Sir, Did you make a payment to …. Hutch… of Rs. 465/-?

Me: No… (Hutch… I never have had a Hutch phone!)

Caller: Sir, your credit card number is xxxx xxxx xxx?

Me: (hmmm… the first 8 digits match) Excuse me… but I thought you said this was regarding online payments..

Caller: Sir, this is regarding &^%*^%*&$

Me: (pissed off) Right… anyway you have given me only 11 digits. A credit card would have 16 digit, right?

Caller: Sir…. could you confirm that your credit card number is xxxx xxxx xxx?

Me: (paitently) And I just told you, unless you give me all the 16 digits I cannot verify if this is my credit card number or not.

Caller: Ok.. just a moment… Sir, could you tell me your credit card number?

Me: (whoa slow down baby) No I cannot. Could you tell me again what this is all about? Is this about failed online payments?

Caller: Err… sir, is your credit card number xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx?

Me: (ok, 16 digits finally. Where did he get them now?) No it is not…

Caller: ok <disconnect>

OK… what was that all about? Was somebody trying to steal my credit card numbers or is it just me with an overactive imagination?

Written by Null Bit

Monday, April 24, 2006 at 4:40 pm

Posted in Info, Muses

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Woah.. That’s scary. Sounds like somebody was trying to steal your credit card number yeah. Stupid idiots. Maybe you should report the phone number somewhere? Because not everybody are as smart as you, and they might fall for it šŸ˜€

    Tina

    Tuesday, April 25, 2006 at 3:24 am

  2. It was almost certainly someone trying to scam you. On the off chance that it’s just a badly trained person you can ask them to identify themselves and their employer. If they won’t do that they’re almost certainly a scammer. And if you really do have their number I’d report it to your bank.

    Mr Angry

    Friday, April 28, 2006 at 8:55 am


Leave a Reply

