Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

Getting the perfect scores

with 2 comments

In my younger days… and I mean my school going days, I used to wonder why marks were so important. Especially the marks in sanskrit and history and civics and geography in which I had no interest whatsoever, and I was extremely sure that I would not venture in these fields during higher studies. So I always remained at the bottom of my class… well a little above than that, but you get the drift. Need to pass. Read all night before the exam. My parents, while they kept complaining about my marksheet ๐Ÿ™‚ failed to explain why was it necessary. I was naive. They explained. I never understood.

Here's an explanation that I found interesting. I doubt if I would have understood it if my parents has used it while I was in school… but at least I have finally found a reason that satisfies(?) me… just so that I have reason to bug my own kids to improve their scorecards ๐Ÿ˜›

Written by Null Bit

Saturday, May 6, 2006 at 11:30 am

Posted in Muses

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi

    Thanks, I also used to wonder the same for my Sanskrit and Math subject. Still Math was one my favorite subject and comes in competitive exams but Sanskrit is of no use. Surprisingly, I always got best marks in Sanskrit only, it was a scoring subject which increases the total percentage.

    Nidhi

    Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 11:54 am

  2. The explanation sounds like “we are looking for toady bootlickers” to me. Maybe that’s the way the law profession works. It certainly sounds like how bureaucracy works, at any rate.

    That said – the point is very valid that marks are an easy way to differentiate between applicants, but it is really not the only way – and the important thing is to apply oneself and excel at _something_. In the IT industry I generally find that marks are a pretty poor indicator of how suited an applicant is to life as, say, a computer programmer. What we are really trying to weed out is mediocrity, laziness and the lack of ability to get stuff done without constant holding of the hands. Marks are not the best indicator of this.

    taj

    Tuesday, April 17, 2007 at 10:26 pm


Leave a Reply

