Null Bit Me

An anonymous null bit wanders… wanting to infect.

WordWeb Free License Terms

with 25 comments

I just installed the latest WordWeb Free Version. I never read license terms, but for some reason I did today. This is what stood out:

You may use the program free of charge indefinitely only if

  • You take at most 4 flights (2 return flights) in any 12 month period
  • AND you do not own or regularly drive an SUV (sports utility vehicle).

I was stumped 🙂 Read the complete license at http://wordweb.info/free/licence.html.

It’s nice to see software spreading awareness about global warming.

Written by Null Bit

Sunday, March 4, 2007 at 9:21 pm

Posted in Funny

25 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Free Version’s license has been lowered to 2 flights (1 return flight). I have never read a more absurd license! I emailed them my deep worries as to the way to proceed in order to demonstrate that one has fulfilled the license requirements : the answer was to read the terms and the additional licence discussion at http://wordweb.info/free/licence_discuss.html — It is mentioned, “It is true that targetting flights is a very crude measure”. Is it?!

    I s till don’t understand this gem of surrealism!

    Copacabana

    Tuesday, June 24, 2008 at 4:10 am

  2. It pissed me off when wordweb blocked their free version.

    To unblock the freeversion of wordweb, just remove the registry entry and re-install again.

    Or modify the registry value at HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\WordWeb\3
    Parameter: Base
    Binary Value: D5 BF EA 13 73 5D E3 40

    Free version shub be able to use after then.

    Rob

    Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    • Better yet, just clear out the value of the base key.

      RIch

      Saturday, July 11, 2009 at 5:44 am

    • I am not too technical. Can you provide a step by step way of removing the registry file?

      DA

      Monday, October 12, 2009 at 3:40 am

  3. hmm…I looked at this today, and I’m puzzled…How do they enforce this?

    Aaron Cheng

    Tuesday, August 5, 2008 at 11:25 am

  4. Hey Rob,

    Thanks for the help… I also was taken back when I inadvertently clicked “More than 2 flights a year”.

    Now I’m locked out. I tried your fix but it didn’t work. I tried removing the registry entry completely and reinstalling the program, but to no avail.

    Anyone have another fix?

    Thanks!
    Graham

    graham

    Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 10:23 pm

  5. actually, to correctly reactivate the blocked wordweb application do this:

    modify the registry value at HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\WordWeb\3

    Parameter: Usage

    modify it with any random binary input (delete all the zeros and enter any random alphanumeric input.

    thats it!

    cheers

    Faraz J Karamat

    Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 9:31 am

    • Thanks! That was a very practical and painless solution to counter this pseudo concern for environment.

      Pulak mukherjee

      Friday, May 18, 2012 at 5:14 pm

  6. if it doesn’t work like this then apply changes to:
    Parameter: Base as suggested by Rob (see above)

    🙂

    Faraz J Karamat

    Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 9:34 am

  7. Thank You Rob, it worked for me.
    I first tried to modify the parameter but unfortunately it gave me the same error, then I deleted the complete Wordweb entry from Registry, uninstalled the pack and reinstalled.
    Its working just fantastic !!!
    Graham, u can try the same and see if it works. All the best.
    Many Thanks Bob for the posting 🙂

    Cheers,
    Terry

    Terry

    Wednesday, November 26, 2008 at 12:49 am

  8. Thank you Terry,

    After trying all the options to unblock WordWeb what worked for me was “I deleted the complete Wordweb entry from Registry, uninstalled the pack and reinstalled.”

    Great!!!!
    Sueli

    Sueli

    Tuesday, February 3, 2009 at 5:04 am

  9. the base HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\WordWeb\3\Base change to D5 BF EA 13 73 5D E3 40 worked for me.
    Just ensure that the wordweb in your system tray is exited before you make this change.. the application changes the registry key to the original value on exit too.. so
    exit the app
    make the registry change
    and run it again..

    Parth

    Monday, April 13, 2009 at 2:19 pm

  10. Thanks Rob,

    your first solution – removing key, uninstall and re-installing, worked for me.

    thx

    Wednesday, June 24, 2009 at 5:43 am

  11. wordweb is so handy that i had become a slave to this software, but i was stuck as i selected option of flying more than twice a year, as the wordweb was blocked after that, and i was so hesitated to look for some other desktop based dictionary solution, but this thread saved me…

    thanks a lot to Bob dude, his solution rocks!

    rogerF

    rogerF

    Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 12:41 am

  12. Changing the registry entry-> uninstall->Install …worked fine.. thanx 🙂

    SKC

    Wednesday, September 30, 2009 at 1:56 am

  13. Guys, out of desperation I Removed WordWeb and afterwords removed the WordWeb folder which remained on Drive C. Reinstalling the application worked for me.

    DA

    Monday, October 12, 2009 at 4:02 am

  14. I’m in the US Army, so I take many flights. I also fly see my wife in the Philippines. What should I do? Take a god damned row boat? These airheads can bite me. I don’t need their stinking program.

    Mark

    Sunday, December 13, 2009 at 10:51 pm

  15. So they want to protect the planet by having those who fly or drive SUV’s buy their program?? This is so typical of liberals. It sounds like Al Gore chastising everyone for their carbon emissions and then getting in his limo to go fly on his private jet. Moral is: you can absolve your guilt about carbon emissions with more money. What a scam.

    Stev

    Friday, January 8, 2010 at 3:25 am

  16. Thanx Rob….it really worked..

    Hitesh

    Monday, March 22, 2010 at 9:51 pm

  17. After removing WordWeb, the WordWeb entry in the registry is removed, but the must have put the check in another place, because on reinstall I still get the message that I cannot use it.

    Has anyone found where they have put the check now?

    NC

    Tuesday, June 1, 2010 at 7:11 pm

  18. No problem guys Use this licence key.
    U118616239591479

    pr

    Thursday, October 14, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    • Thanx PR
      it really worked.

      oswal

      Thursday, October 14, 2010 at 12:46 pm

  19. belajar banyak

    piekfupeliz

    Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 11:30 am

  20. […] the next time they asked – fly? What fly? Wouldn’t you know if I had wings?. Nullbit here comes up with some more workarounds you can […]

  21. thanks dear its working 🙂

    Asif

    Tuesday, April 26, 2011 at 10:18 pm


Leave a Reply

